AGENDA ITEM 9

To:	Jim Provenza, Chair
	and Members of the Board of Directors

From: Mat Ehrhardt, P.E., Executive Director/APCO

Date: January 12, 2022

Subject: Committee Assignments for Calendar Year 2022

Recommended Action

Review the draft committee assignments listed below and, based on the Board's discussion, appoint members to the committees as appropriate.

Background

Over time the Board has authorized various committees to provide oversight of District activities prior to the items being brought before the Board. At the first regular meeting of the year, assignments are made for the calendar year. A description of each committee is found below:

Personnel Committee:

The committee is composed of the Chair and Vice Chair, with an additional Board member bringing the committee to three members. The third member has historically been the past chair of the District. The Personnel Committee convenes on issues related to personnel, such as APCO evaluation, salary and benefit compensation, and possible confidential matters. It meets an average of twice per year.

Budget and Audit Committee:

Committee members are called upon approximately two to three times per year. The committee meets with representatives from the accounting firm performing the District's annual audit, and then reports the findings to the full Board. Additionally, staff meets with the committee to review the proposed budget prior to presentation to the full Board. Five members serve on this committee.

Clean Air Funds Committee:

The committee meets on an as needed basis. The committee consists of three Yolo and three Solano members. The three Solano members typically serve on the STA Clean Air Funds Committee. The STA committee will review Clean Air Grant Fund Applications and make a recommendation on the Solano County projects to the full Board.

Yolo Clean Air Funds Committee:

This committee meets once per year and will review Clean Air Fund grant applications and make recommendations on the Yolo County projects to the full Board. The committee consists of three Yolo city representatives and three Yolo County Supervisors.

Technical Review Committee:

This committee meets on an as-needed basis to review new rules and regulations as proposed by District staff, and prior to the new rules being brought to the full Board. Three members are selected to serve on this committee.

Legislative Committee:

This committee meets every two years to review the existing legislative platform and make recommendations to the full board. In addition the committee meets on an as-needed basis to take positions on important legislation that falls outside of the scope of the legislative platform. The committee consists of six members and should be split between members who represent cities and counties, and should be split equally between each county.

Basin Control Council Representative:

The Board assigns the District representative on the Basin Control Council. The representative typically is the Yolo County 5th District Supervisor.

Recommendations

Personnel (3)

- Incoming Chair
- Incoming Vice Chair
- Jim Provenza

Budget & Audit (5)

- Norma Alcala
- Jim Ernest
- Ron Kott
- Don Saylor
- John Vasquez

Clean Air Funds (6)

- Harold Anderson
- Jim Ernest
- Gary Sandy
- Don Saylor
- John Vasquez
- Jeanette Wylie

BCC Representative (1)

• Angel Barajas

Yolo Clean Air Funds (6)

- Harold Anderson
- Victoria Fernandez
- Gloria Partida
- Gary Sandy
- Jim Provenza
- Don Saylor

Technical Review (3)

- Monica Brown
- Gloria Partida
- Gary Sandy

Legislative Committee (6)

- Monica Brown
- Jim Ernest
- Mitch Mashburn
- Gloria Partida
- Jim Provenza
- Don Saylor