Board of Directors

The Yolo-Solano AQMD Board of Directors is the District’s governing board. Fourteen elected officials sit on the Board. These members represent the elected bodies that govern the two counties and seven incorporated cities within Yolo-Solano AQMD.

Board Makeup

The Board of Directors includes four members of the Yolo County Board of Supervisors, three members of the Solano County Board of Supervisors and one member from each of the City Councils of Davis, Dixon, Rio Vista, Vacaville, West Sacramento, Winters and Woodland. Each county and city determines internally who will sit on the Yolo-Solano AQMD Board. There are no separate public elections for seats on the Yolo-Solano AQMD Board, nor are their District-set term limits. The Board of Directors elects its own Chair and Vice Chair each January to serve for that calendar year. Chairs and Vice Chairs serve 1-year terms.

Board Meetings

The Board of Directors meets on the second Wednesday of each month at the District office in Davis. The meetings start at 9:00 a.m. and are open to the public. Board meeting agendas, staff reports, and resolutions are posted publicly in advance of each called meeting.

In compliance with directives of the State and Centers for Disease Control and prevention (CDC), the physical location of this meeting is closed to the public.  This is consistent with state and local officials recommendation to promote social distancing and pursuant to Assembly Bill 361, which authorizes local legislative bodies to hold public meetings via teleconference and to make public meetings accessible telephonically or otherwise electronically to all members of the public.  Members of the public are encouraged to observe and participate in the teleconference.

See current and recent agendas

Board Committees

In order to properly manage workload, the Board of Directors also convenes several permanent committees and, when needed, creates ad hoc committees to consider specific items. Committee assignments are typically determined in January of each year. Committee meetings are noticed according to the Brown Act. 

Current Board Members

MEMBER JURISDICTION EMAIL COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS
Norma Alcala Council Member – City of West Sacramento nalcala@cityofwestsacramento.org Budget & Audit 
Harold Anderson Council Member – City of Winters harold.anderson@cityofwinters.org Clean Air Funds, Yolo Clean Air Funds
Angel Barajas Supervisor – Yolo County District 5 angel.Barajas@yolocounty.org Basin Control Council Representative
Monica Brown Supervisor – Solano County District 2 mebrown@solanocounty.com Technical Review, Legislative Committee
Jim Ernest Vice Mayor – City of Dixon jimernest@ci.dixon.ca.us Budget & Audit, Clean Air Funds, Legislative Committee
Victoria Fernandez Council Member – City of Woodland vicky.fernandez@cityofwoodland.org Yolo Clean Air Funds
Ronald Kott – CHAIR Mayor – City of Rio Vista rkott@ci.rio-vista.ca.us Personnel, Budget & Audit
Mitch Mashburn Supervisor – Solano County District 5 mhmashburn@solanocounty.com Legislative Committee
Gloria Partida – VICE CHAIR Mayor – City of Davis gpartida@cityofdavis.org Personnel, Legislative, Yolo Clean Air Funds, Technical Review
Jim Provenza  Supervisor – Yolo County District 4 jim.provenza@yolocounty.org Personnel, Yolo Clean Air Funds, Legislative Committee
Gary Sandy Supervisor – Yolo County District 3 gary.sandy@yolocounty.org Clean Air Funds, Yolo Clean Air Funds, Technical Review
Donald Saylor Supervisor – Yolo County District 2 dsaylor@yolocounty.org Budget & Audit, Clean Air Funds, Yolo Clean Air Funds, Technical Review, Legislative Committee
John Vasquez Supervisor – Solano County District 4 jmvasquez@solanocounty.com Budget & Audit, Clean Air Funds
Jeanette Wylie Council Member – City of Vacaville jeanette.wylie@cityofvacaville.com  Clean Air Funds

Hearing Board

The Yolo-Solano AQMD Hearing Board is an appointed body that handles issues concerning variances, abatement orders, and permit disputes. Hearing Board members are appointed by the Board of Directors but are otherwise independent and serve fixed terms.